WHY IS MY HAIR SO DRY? Pt.1

photo (1)

I get complimented often on my hair, specifically that is looks so “moisturized’. Then the question that follows is almost always “what do you use on your hair?” and “why is my hair so dry?” I thought I’d share some of my tips on moisture installation, and retention.

Is Deep Conditioning Enough?

               Ok so the first thing is products, I don’t really like to be product specific about exactly what I use because hair is so varied that what works for me my not work for you but let’s talk about some general things I look for when choosing deep conditioners. I feel that deep conditioning with heat has made a major difference in my hair. I rotate my deep conditioners to ensure that I don’t throw the Moisture/Protein Balance off in my hair. Throwing this balance out of wack can lead to: breakage, limp curls, dry brittle hair, etc. Finding the balance of how much protein vs. moisture your hair needs really is something you’ll learn over time in dealing with your hair. I also include elasticity treatments in my deep conditioning rotation. Elasticity treatments help prevent damage to cortex, rebuild the lipid layer, and smooth and seal the outer cuticle of the hair. I use my moisture based deep conditioner twice a month, my protein treatment once a month ( after trial and error once a month provides enough protein for my hair), and my elasticity treatment once a month. Below are my favorite picks for each category.

MOISTURE BASED DEEP CONDITIONER: 2X’S A MONTH

Shea moisture Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Intensive Hydration Deep Conditioner

Hair Yum Blueberry Yogurt Deep Conditioner

PROTEIN BASED DEEP CONDITIONER: 1X A MONTH

Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen Grow & Restore Treatment Masque

ELASTICITY TREATMENT : 1X A MONTH

Ouidad Curl Recovery Melt Down Mask

Part 2,3 Coming Soon…..

Part 2: Are Oils the enemy?

Part 3: Is Your Diet the Blame?

Thanks for reading – Mary G.

Other great refrences:

Moknowshair.com

Naturallycurly.com

One thought on “WHY IS MY HAIR SO DRY? Pt.1

  1. curlygirlq says:

    TFS I think my porosity was causing my dryness. I’m low porosity so I wasn’t sealing properly or adding moisture using the right techniques. Since I’ve switched to warming up products and using warm/hot water I’ve noticed a difference

    Like

Leave a Reply

